Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Who researched and wrote these FAQs?

The FAQs were prepared by Christopher Hrynkow, Erika Simpson, and Peter Venton with assistance from CPRA members. These Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) are based on various sections of the Canadian Peace Research Association (CPRA) 2018 Constitution. The CPRA Constitution is posted and available on the CPRA Website and the CPRA Facebook Page.  

Simple explanations for some answers to FAQs are bolded and italicized. To save time, you can read these parts and skip the detailed information.

The Constitution was approved by the General Council (GC) at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the General Council (GC) on May 30, 2018.

The 2015 CPRA Constitution was adopted in June 1966, and revised in 2015. The 2015 Constitution was the operative Constitution for the 2018 GC meeting.

During the 2018 GC meeting, it was assumed that voting on GC agenda items 2 through 11 preceded voting agenda items 12 through 17 which were other motions and amendments to the 2015 CPRA Constitution.

Who can run for office?

Any member can run for office. The member must have paid his/her annual membership fee for that year (e.g. June 5, 2019 - June 4, 2020) in order to run for office.

If you intend to miss the General Council Meeting - sometimes referred to the Annual General Meeting (AGM) - you can run for office, however, you cannot vote at the GC Meeting by proxy.

Who can vote for people to be elected  to the board of directors?

Any Regular full member who attends the GC Meeting (e.g. in June 2019) and who is registered as a full member at Congress 2019 for the CPRA AGM. The regular member must have paid his/her dues (e.g. 2019-2020) at the GC meeting (e.g. 2019-2020 GC meeting).

The GC meeting is tentatively expected to take place on site at Congress every two years. The last election was held at the General Council meeting on Wed. June 5, 2019

Associate members (e.g. students, retired) may run for office but they may not vote at the GC according to Article V- 1 and Article III-2 of the 2015 Constitution.